Dinner time! butternut squash and pear pizza

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit jealous of pizza. I mean, he can get along with everybody. Who doesn’t like being in his company? What’s even more annoying, is he can work any style. Thick crusted and covered with meat, slim and accessorised  with veg, sticking to his traditional Italian routes, or adjusting for his Thai friends. Heck, he can even pull off a dessert!

However, sometimes the best kind of pizzas are those you make yourself. For me, I love this. It means I know exactly what ingredients have gone into it, I can adjust it to whatever I fancy at the time and it can be made to the perfect size. (I much prefer mini pizzas because not only are they cuter but you don’t have to deal with your stomach’s cries of having overindulged afterwards.) If you’re currently one of those people aiming for their summer bikini body at the moment  then this recipe is also ideal and I can assure you the combination of butternut squash and pear is actually really tasty…

To make two, you will need…

What to do…

  • Combine the butter and flour together in a bowl and rub with your fingers until breadcrumbs are formed.
  • Stir in the milk to form a doughy mixture (Seriously, how much more simple could this be?!)
  • Shape into a ball using your hands and then roll out onto a lightly floured work surface and flatten 
  • Then, using a plate, carve a circular outline with a knife and then separate the outside dough. Carefully transfer onto a baking tray of some sort. 

  • Re-roll out the remaining dough and repeat
  • Now you can go mad with the topping! I grated the cheese and then arranged the butternut squash (NOTE: This was chopped up and had been cooking until slightly softened for 30 minutes beforehand ) and sliced pear.
  • A sprinkling of Rosemary goes just fine and then you can place in the oven at 180 degrees for about 20 minutes 🙂

Best served with a classic salad and buttered cabbage. Délicieux!

3 comments

  1. What an interesting combination! I love pizza because it really can suit anyone’s needs. In a gluten free household, we are still able to make everyone’s favorite and I can load mine with veggies while my brother opts for the meats and cheeses haha


Leave a Reply

